Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Athletic Trainer.
- Effective July 1, 2016, applicants for initial licensure must use a LiveScan service provider to submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
- Has obtained a baccalaureate or higher degree from a college or university professional athletic training degree program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education or its successor recognized and approved by the United States Department of Education or the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation, approved by the board, or recognized by the Board of Certification, and has passed the national examination to be certified by the Board of Certification.
- If graduated before 2004, has a current certification from the Board of Certification.
- Has current certification in both cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated external defibulator at the professional rescue level from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, the National Safety Council, or an entity approved by the Board as equivalent.
- Have submitted proof of taking a two-hour course on the prevention of medical errors.
- If licensed in another state, territory, or jurisdiction of the United States, must have a license verification form sent directly to the board office from that office that issued the license or certification.
- Applicant must submit the State of Florida Athletic Training Application for Licensure, along with the licensure fee and a 2×2 photo.
- The required credentials must also be submitted to the Board Office, the list of credentials as well as the Board address can be found on the application instructions.
- The License/Certification Verification Form (last form of the application) is only to be completed if the applicant holds or has held a license in another state, U.S. territory, or foreign country. If so, the applicant must mail this form to the office that issued the license or certification. That office must complete and mail the form directly to the Board Office. It will not be considered official if received from the applicant.
- The continuing education requirement for the Athletic Training license is a two-hour course on the Prevention of Medical Errors. This must be taken from an approved provider; the list of approved providers and courses can be found online at: www.cebroker.com. The course can be taken online but the certificate of completion will need to be printed and mailed in with the application or faxed to (850) 921-5389.
- Once the Board has received the application (usually within 10-14 days after mailing out), the application and credentials will be reviewed and as long as the requirements are met a license will be issued to the applicant. A letter of approval will be mailed out immediately with the applicant’s license number and the actual license will be mailed 4-6 weeks after the approval letter.
Certified check or money order should be made payable to: Florida Department of Health
|Date Application is Submitted||Fee to Submit with Application|
|09/16/11 through 04/20/12||$180.00|
|04/21/12 through 09/15/13||$230.00|
|09/16/13 through 04/20/14||$180.00|
|04/21/14 through 09/15/15||$230.00|
|09/16/15 through 04/20/16||$180.00|
|04/21/16 through 09/15/17||$230.00|
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Florida Administrative Code